The Schools

One Program. Two Campuses.

Centre College
Centre College is a small, independent, and selective educational community dedicated to study in the liberal arts as a means to develop the intellectual, personal, and moral potential of its students. Centre nurtures in its students the ability to think logically and critically, to work creatively, to analyze and compare values, and to write and speak with clarity and grace. It acquaints students with the range of accomplishments of the human mind and spirit in a variety of arts and theoretical disciplines. It enables students to choose and fulfill significant responsibilities in society. In short, Centre’s highest priority is to prepare its students for lives of learning, leadership, and service.

Some quick facts:

  • Nearly 1,400 students
  • A Student/Faculty ratio of 10.5 to 1
  • Average class size is 18
  • 26 majors, 34 minors, and the chance to create a self-designed major
  • Founded in 1819
  • 85% of students study abroad at least once
  • 11 varsity sports teams for men, 12 for women, a member of NCAA Division III and the Southern Athletic Association
  • “Centre Term,” a one-course, three week term in January
  • Active Greek life
  • Located in Danville, KY (population 16,000)

In addition, students benefit from the Centre Commitment, which says:
“All students are guaranteed 1) study abroad, 2) an internship or research opportunity, and 3) graduation in four years, or Centre will provide up to a year of additional study tuition-free.”

University of Louisville
The University of Louisville is a state supported research university located in Kentucky’s largest metropolitan area. It was a municipally supported public institution for many decades prior to joining the university system in 1970. The University has three campuses. The 287-acre Belknap Campus is three miles from downtown Louisville and houses seven of the university’s 12 colleges and schools. The Health Sciences Center is situated in downtown Louisville’s medical complex and houses the university’s health related programs and the University of Louisville Hospital. The 243-acre Shelby Campus is located in eastern Jefferson County.

Mission Statement
The University of Louisville shall be a premier, nationally recognized metropolitan research university with a commitment to the liberal arts and sciences and to the intellectual, cultural, and economic development of our diverse communities and citizens through the pursuit of excellence in five interrelated strategic areas:

  1. Educational Experience
  2. Research, Creative, and Scholarly Activity
  3. Accessibility, Diversity, Equity, and Communication
  4. Partnerships and Collaborations
  5. Institutional Effectiveness of Programs and Services.

More information: Just the Facts